## University Faculty Council Meeting Minutes February 20, 2018 3:15 – 5:00 PM Jones Room, Woodruff Library

**Attended:** Juliette Stapanian Apkarian, Kimberly Jacob Arriola, Henry Bayerle, Deborah Bruner, Kevin Crowley, Erica Duncan, Margaret Fleming, Sandra Garraway, Carrie Cwiak, Jason Hockenberry, Peng Jin, Michelle Lampl, Joel LeMon, Ulemu Luhanga, Arun Jones, Judy Raggi Moore, Nicole Morris, Jim Nagy, Mimi Newell, Nichole Powell, Ani Satz, Karen Scheib, Jason Schneider, Pamela Scully, Lynn Zimmerman, Holly York, Kimber Williams, Janice Withycombe, Anand Swaminathan

Excused Absences: Andreas Fritz, Leslie Taylor, Kristin Wendland, Astrid Prinz

Unexcused Absences: Carla Berg, Sarah Blake, Matthew Klopman

**Ex Officio Absences:** William Branch, Tamara Caspary, Craig Castellino, Noel Erksine, Andrea Joyner, Dwight A. McBride, Claire E. Sterk, Aryeh Stein

# I. Call to Order

Emory University Faculty Council (UFC) Chair Henry Bayerle called the meeting to order at 3:15 p.m.

### II. Approval of Meeting Minutes from January 2018 – Henry Bayerle (UFC Chair)

**UFC motion:** Bayerle requested to hear a motion to approve the January 2018 minutes, which have been posted to the UFC Box folder, with one change as follows. Janice Withycombe's name was moved from "Unexcused Absences" to "Excused Absences". Judy Raggi Moore made the motion, and Pamela Scully seconded it. The motion carried unanimously.

## **III. Consent Agenda** – Jason Schneider (UFC Chair-Elect)

**UFC motion:** Schneider moved that the UFC utilize a consent agenda starting in the March 2018 meeting. The consent agenda would include meeting items that are either routine procedures (e.g., approval of meeting minutes) or likely to be noncontroversial. This would allow a fast approval of all the items in the consent agenda at once without requiring individual motions and discussions. The items on the consent agenda will be determined by the chairperson and can be moved to the regular meeting agenda upon request by any member of UFC. Deborah Bruner seconded this motion, and the motion passed with no opposition.

# IV. Faculty Counselor Reports

#### a. Finance Committee – Kimberly Arriola

Arriola outlined the composition of the Finance Committee and summarized its charge. She said that, even if the faculty counselor is not a voting member of this committee, its value is in the larger engagement with the Board of Trustees. She concluded encouring participation of faculty on this committee.

# b. Audit and Compliance Committee – Jason Hockenberry

Hockenberry conveyed how satisfied he is by being a faculty counselor for this committee, and encouraged UFC members to participate in the future.

# c. Academic Affairs Committee – Jason Schneider

Schneider provided an overview of the committee duties and responsibilities. He also summarized recent agenda items. Focus areas include "Financial Underpinnings for Academic Excellence", a report from the Office of the Provost, U.S. News and World Report rankings, and approaches to undergraduate financial aid.

V. Class and Labor 2 Implementation Update – Deborah Bruner (Co-Chair of Steering Committee for Class and Labor 2 Implementation)

Bruner began by reminding UFC members of the recommendations made in <u>Class and Labor 2 report</u>. She said in January 2018 Provost McBride appointed a UFC-based steering committee to plan the implementation of the Class and Labor 2 committee recommendations. Committee members have been appointed to serve for five years.. She then introduced the committee roster. Bruner said the committee has formed small working groups and identified specific recommendations they will be focusing on in particular. Bruner outlined the format of an action plan and also a tentative timeline for their action. She concluded by describing the communication channels that will facilitate transparency.

# VI. The John F. Morgan Sr. Distinguished Faculty Lecture Announcement – Henry Bayerle and Jason Schneider

Bayerle reminded UFC members that <u>this year's lecture</u> was canceled due to an unexpected health condition of Dr. Carol Anderson, the speaker. Bayerle said the lecture will tentatively be delivered on April 9, 2018. Nominations for the determination of next year's speaker will be invited soon by chair-elect Jason Schneider.

#### VII.Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 4:19 p.m.