

## **Faculty Council**

## Distinguished Faculty Lecture Series Committee Roster 2021-2022

The Distinguished Faculty Lecture Committee is a standing committee of the University Faculty Council. Its Chair is the Chair-Elect of the Council. Its members include past Distinguished Faculty lecturers. The charge of the Committee is to administer the Distinguished Faculty Lecture Series initiated and supported by the Office of the President. Its responsibilities include:

- 1. Seeking nominations for the lecturer from among the faculty of the University
- 2. Evaluating nominations and making a recommendation to the Faculty Council
- 3. in cooperation with the Office of the President, inviting the elected lecturer and arranging for the time and place of the lecture. The Chair of the Committee introduces the lecturer.

Committee Chair: Alicia DeNicola

## Committee Members of Past Lecturers

1996 Doug Wallace (Genetics)

1997 James Gustafson (Ethics)

1998 Dan Carter (History)

1999 Jacqueline Jordan Irvine (Education)

2000 Reynaldo Martorell (Public Health)

2001 John Witte (Law)

2002 Don Sailers (Theology)

2003 Claire Sterk (Public Health)

2004 Brooks Holifield (Theology)

2005 Frank Alexander (Law)

2006 Dennis Liotta (Chemistry)

2007 Jagdish Sheth (Business)

2008 Elaine Walker (Psychology)

2009 Abdullahi-An-Na'im (Law)

2010 Natasha Trethewey (Creative Writing)

2011 Ora Strickland (Nursing)

2012 Harvey Klehr (Political Science)

2013 Steve Warren (Medicine)

2014 Helen Mayberg (Medicine)

2015 Frans de Waal (Psychology)

2016 Bruce Levin (Biology)

2017 Rafi Ahmed (Medicine)

2018 Carol Anderson (African-American Studies)

2019 Melvin J. Konner (Anthropology & Behavioral Biology)

2020 Max D. Cooper (Pathology & Laboratory Medicine)

2021 Nancy J. Newman (Ophthalmology)

2021 Valérie Biousse (Ophthalmology)